15 States / UTs Deploy ‘BH’ Series for Vehicle Registration for Transparent Interstate Transfer


NEW DELHI: Fifteen states and UTs including Delhi, Odisha, Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Himachal Pradesh, J&K, Chandigarh and Tripura have rolled out the new “Bharat (BH)” series for personal vehicle registration within two months of registration. Ministry of Road Transport. notified this scheme.
Currently, defense personnel, central and state government employees, power units, and private sector companies that have offices in four or more states and UTs can take advantage of the facility. TOI has learned that seven of these states have registered vehicles with this new registration mark. So far, Odisha and Delhi have issued a maximum of 55 and 32 registration numbers.
” It’s a good start. We have not received any objections from any state. Every state government is keen to reduce the hassle people face in transferring vehicles. The policy was notified after due consultation, ”said an official from the Ministry of Road Transport. He added that there have been no complaints from an owner of a vehicle with the new registration number facing an issue.
This scheme is voluntary. The new regime was notified with the aim of making the transfer of vehicles to other states transparent and hassle-free. Vehicles registered with this new “BH” series, which stands for Bharat, will not require re-registration when owners move to a new state.
Those who choose to register their vehicles under this new set of registration numbers must pay road tax for two years or in multiples of two. The whole process was done online. For this program, the ministry has set the road tax of 8% for vehicles costing up to Rs 10 lakh, 10% for those costing between Rs 10-20 lakh and 12% for vehicles costing more than Rs 20 lakh. There is a 2% surcharge for diesel vehicles and electric vehicles will be charged 2% less taxes.



Comments are closed.